Vital Records

New Hampshire vital records are considered to be private and NH Statute restricts access to these records to only those individuals who have a "direct and tangible interest" in the record (RSA 5-C-9). Certain older records are exempt from these access restrictions. Please see the Genealogical/Historical Research section for more information on older records.

Orders at the Town Clerk's Office

In order to obtain certified copies of any vital record, you must complete an application at the Town Clerk's office and pay a search fee. The current fee is $15. This fee is payable whether or not a record is found. Additional copies of the same record issued at the same time are $10.

Pursuant to RSA 5 C-16, all individuals requesting a certified copy of a record must present positive identification, including, but not limited to, a driver's license, passport or other picture identification, or in the absence of acceptable picture identification shall complete another form (Documentation Evidence for Individuals not Possessing an Acceptable Picture Identification).

Orders Through the Mail

To order through the mail with a check, please use the New Hampshire Department of State Division of Vital Records Administration link. All requirements and forms can be found on this web page.