Drinking Water Protection Committee


2020 Drinking Water Protection Committee photo

From left to right, top to botton: Jordan Vachon, Cindy Klevens, Blake Hooper, Matthew Taylor, Wendy Waskin, Madhumita Chatterjee. Not pictured: Chris Culberson and Adam Bertrand from White Water.  

Drinking Water Protection Committee Members

Members are appointed by the Bow Board of Selectmen

  • Cynthia Klevens, Chair
  • Wendy Waskin
  • Madhumita Chatterjee
  • Jordan Vachon
  • Tom O'Donovan
  • Matthew Taylor, Ex-Officio Community Development Director
  • Eric Smith, Ex-Officio WhiteWater
  • Steve Cheney, Ex-Officio WhiteWater


The Bow Drinking Water Protection Committee was formed by the Board of Selectmen on May 10, 2005 to oversee the development of the Town’s 2006 Source Water Protection Plan (SWPP) for the Town's municipal public water systems.

Protection Plan Objective

The objective of the SWPP is to “increase the understanding of the drinking water resources in the Town of Bow, and to provide a meaningful foundation for decision-making in order to protect the quality and quantity of drinking water sources.”

Public Water Systems

There are currently 39 regulated community and municipally managed public water systems in the Town of Bow, including eight which are directly managed by either the Town or School District. Each municipal system has its own wellhead protection plan which needs to be reviewed and updated every three years.

In addition, the committee, reviews the SWPP annually and works to ensure that the recommendations of the plan are implemented.  

Additional Duties

The committee also provides educational information, technical assistance and outreach to the approximate 6,000 residents that rely on groundwater as their drinking water source. This includes holding well water testing events and conducting research activities related to groundwater protection.